Kendallkasey's Blog











{August 3, 2010}   It’s Not All Bad

If you have followed me from the start you probably noticed I haven’t said one positive thing about being a massage therapist, but there has to be a bright side to the profession, right? I don’t know anyone who would put up with these people if there wasn’t something worthwhile about it.

As many strange, rude and disgusting people I have on my schedule that make my job miserable, it’s the kind and thoughtful people I see that make me want to come back. I met a woman named Candy almost three years ago, and when I think about her first massage I smile because I had no idea she would change my life forever. Her massage started just like everyone else’s, pleasantries exchanged, she told me some of her health history and where she was hurting, but then as I massaged her we began talking and I thoroughly enjoyed the conversation. She rescheduled for the following week, and I was so thankful I had another “good one” to look forward to.

I would not be writing my book if it weren’t for Candy. She has inspired me in so many ways, and one of the most important lessons she has taught me is to go after what you want until you get it. She is a writer as well, and she understands me on a level a lot of people don’t. I can go to her and talk to her about the frustrations of being a writer, but I can also share my triumphs with her because she is just as happy as I am when I experience the joys of writing. A friend who is truly happy for you and feels no jealousy towards you during the good times is hard to come by.  

Candy is such a wonderful mother of three amazing kids, one girl and two boys. I hope my kids stay on the path they are on now, but it’s so hard to tell exactly what lies in your children’s future. I know when I am worried or stressed about my kids, or if I am proud of something they accomplished, I can go right to Candy and tell her. She is always there to give me advice, celebrate with me when they have done a good job at school, or calm me down when I start to worry about them.

Without Candy, my family and I would not be as involved in our community. There has never been a Christmas that we didn’t donate toys, or a Thanksgiving we forgot to bring cans by a food bank, but Candy makes me want to do more than the minimum. I see how she has touched people’s lives through the non-profit she started, and I realized there is so much more I can be doing. Candy makes me want to be a better person, she makes me want to give more to those in need and love those who just need a shoulder to cry on or a helping hand to get through a hard time.

Without massage, I don’t know if Candy and I would have ever met. I believe every single person who has come into my life, has for a reason. Maybe the sole purpose that some of my clients have wound up on my table was to make my blog more enjoyable to write and even funnier to read, but for people who started out as clients and have become friends, you serve a greater purpose. You have made my life more enjoyable, you have made me a better person, and massage therapy a lot easier to handle.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
